_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling: Painting & Color Schemes
Topics on painting and paint schemes are grouped here
Painting 2-Tone Color Scheme on US Destroyer?
FirstMass
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 252 posts
Model Shipwrights: 50 posts
Posted: Saturday, December 18, 2010 - 01:01 PM UTC
I'm an armor modeler thinking about building my first 1/350 styrene warship. I have DML's very nice USS Gleaves but am feeling very intimidated by the painting process. Of the two schemes available I figured I'd go with the simplest -- vertical surfaces painted the lighter color, horizontal surfaces painted a darker color.

My question is how does one go about this? Does it have to be done by hand with a brush? Do you mask and paint with an airbrush (I'm not very adept at fine paint schemes btw)? Or do you paint it in sub-assemblies and then assemble it?

It's a beautiful kit and I even bought the extra photo-etch set from from CyberHobby for that extra punch. I'd hate to mess it all up.

Can someone advise me? Perhaps there is an online tutorial I could be directed to.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Brian
TracyWhite
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 527 posts
Model Shipwrights: 464 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 19, 2010 - 04:58 AM UTC
I personally do a little bit of both; I prefer airbrush coats over brush-painted ones other than touch up.