Topics on painting and paint schemes are grouped here
Rattle Tin Vs Paint Brush
bigal07
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 887 posts
Model Shipwrights: 575 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 26, 2011 - 03:39 AM UTC
Some time ago although he'll probably not be greatly concerned about this little thread, Ray D. Bean asked about the possible use of a rattle tin against that of a paint brush, I have one of those airbrushes and no matter what I do, or who's advice I follow, I simply can't get the darn thing to work, which then lead me to the rattle tin, a disposable tin of spray paint.
This is a double wammy for me because I'm not that good at part per part building or painting, so you'll have to bare with me throughout the varied stages of this paint and spray job.
I did say second wammy, as a VERY LARGE seaplane tender that I've wanted to build again has now finally surfaced, the IJN Chitose in the real world this must have been a giant, the beginning of our little project will oddly enough begin with part building this model, and I'll try and show you how a rattle tin can be used -
Coming up to 3 years now, and this model I am sure we can improve slightly, using the same method painting, we'll see how we get on.
Chiyoda ''2'' 006
This is the Aoshima 1-700 kit, and measures a good 11 inches, and for this scale, this a HUGE model considering its a tender and not a battleship.
bigal07
Visit this Community
Posted: Saturday, March 26, 2011 - 09:25 PM UTC
rattle can 002
Above we're going to cover everything that isn't nailed to the floorboards, this is all one colour from the rattle tin.
Below is our tin of paint, this offers a nice dark but quite lively grey into the subject, as you can see, its not the end of the world.
rattle can 004
rattle can 005
Same thing - this time rather then the same old red, we'll use crimson, and again we're plastering basically everything that doesn't move.
bigal07
Visit this Community