Topics on painting and paint schemes are grouped here
Need advice for painting with paint brushes
wilkinsontan
Visit this Community
Alur Setar, Malaysia
KitMaker: 9 posts
Model Shipwrights: 6 posts
Posted: Monday, November 28, 2011 - 06:40 PM UTC
Hi. I am new to model building. I recently assembled a 1:72 Mig-3. I used paint brushes and enamel paint for my model. The end result was rather patchy and i felt the paint was a liitle too thick. I used the paint straight from the bottle. Should I have diluted it first? If so, what ratio should i use? Please advice.

Another question, after painting do you normally place a after coat? Thanks.
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,531 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,244 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - 12:02 AM UTC
Painting with brushes can be frustrating. The paint has to be thin enough to flow evenly, but thick enough to cover. You have to experiment, each brand of paint is different. Sometimes even paints of the same brand can vary, depending on how old the paint is. Older paint needs to be thinned more than a new bottle. The thinner in a bottle of paint will evaporate over time. Especially after the bottle has been opened. Even a 'new' bottle could have been sitting on the store shelf for a long time, and need to be thinned. Some colors are much harder to get good overage with on a large area. Silver, white, or yellow, for example. You might find it easier to use a spray can in some cases. The type of paint brush you use can also affect the finish. I find I get better results using short bristled, square tipped, paint brushes of different widths. Wider brushes for large areas and narrower ones for smaller parts. I hope I have helped you. Painting, like everything else, takes practice. After a while you will find what works best for you. Good luck, and keep at it. Al
wilkinsontan
Visit this Community
Alur Setar, Malaysia
Posted: Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - 12:40 AM UTC