_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Military Small Craft
For topics on PT boats, landing craft, Vietnam riverine, etc.
Schnellboot Questions
sherman-vc
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 254 posts
Model Shipwrights: 10 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 05:02 AM UTC
Hello, being an armour modeler I don't have any referance on this subject wondering if anyone can help me out with a few questions I have about the 1/35 scale Schnellboat S-100.

I see there are a number of aftermarket items out there for this kit, I was planning on getting the Eduard photoetch set, and the Mastermodeler barrel set for the guns.

What about the MasterCaster Skullcap bridge conversion. Is it nessarry for the Marking options provided with the kit?

Also not sure wheather to go with the Depth Charges or the mines from Schatton Modellbau set of mines is preety pricey (70 euro) compared to the Depth Charges (12 euro) which was more commonly carried?

Thanks in advance for you input.

Regards,
Rod
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,531 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,244 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 07:12 AM UTC
As I remember it, the replacement "skull cap" just addresses some missing details, rivets I think, on the original kit part. Lacking any detection gear, I wouldn't think the S-boats would have been very effective as ASW platforms. US boats carried depth charges mainly to discourage pursuit by destroyers. Don't know if the Germans used them for the same reason. IMHO, the mines simply look more interesting than the DC's. Will look forward to seeing your build. Al
Grauwolf
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
KitMaker: 2,485 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,157 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 07:27 AM UTC
Hello Rod,

Are you familiar with this site:

http://www.prinzeugen.com/

A lot of visual reference to help you out if you do
not have any books on the subject.

For any other questions, do not hestitae to ask here.