_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Military Small Craft
For topics on PT boats, landing craft, Vietnam riverine, etc.
New to shipbuilding! S-100 in the dry dock
jjcadenhead
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 32 posts
Model Shipwrights: 10 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 12:46 AM UTC
Hello all!!! I have been watching this site for a long time now. I am totally amazing at the qualifying of everyone's work. I have been building armor for around 10 years. I have decided to take the plunge into world of Floaty Things. My first project will be the Revell 1/72 s-100 with Flak. I picked it up at a great price, 20 US dollars. I have seen some great builds of this kit on here. I have a few questions if anyone has the time to answer.

I picked up the ArtWox deck for the is kit. Can it be attached after the kit is painted or do I need to masked those areas off? Are there any clearence issues with the deck?

Fordboy
Visit this Community
Auckland, New Zealand
KitMaker: 2,169 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,597 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 02:59 AM UTC
Ahoy John

Welcome to the floaty side.

You have picked a great subject the Revell S100 Flak.

I haven't personally used the Artwox deck on the S100 but reviewing it online I suspect you may have to go with a combination of applying/masking and applying after paint.

I would ensure its all painted and deck installed prior to weathering.

I am sure other more experienced modelers on here can also tender an opinion.

Cheers

Sean
rolltide31
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,481 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,332 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 05:47 AM UTC
John,

Welcome to the wetter side of the hobby. I too was a for hard armor fan until I caught the seaside bug. Looking forward to seeing your S100.

As far as the wooden deck, my personal method is applying after I paint. The adhesive sticks to paint on deck better than clean plastic.