_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Military Small Craft
For topics on PT boats, landing craft, Vietnam riverine, etc.
LCM-3 or LCM-6 ???
Mark
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 554 posts
Model Shipwrights: 33 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 - 12:35 PM UTC
Hi all,
My modeling-interest was already limited to Vietnam-war dioramas and lately it seems I’m focusing on the Brown Water Navy and other Vietnam craft. While surfing the net I cam across a picture of a HSSC (Heavy Seal Support Craft). It seems to be an early version since it’s based on a LCM-6 (or 3???) and if I’m not mistaken the later versions are LCM-8 based (correct me if I’m wrong, I’m no expert). Some time ago I bought Trumpeters LCM-3 and I was wondering if I could turn this one into the early HSSC. I did a little comparison between the picture and a LCM-3 model and to me it seems to be correct. So my question is: what do you guys think; is it based on a LCM-3 or 6? (I couldn’t find a decent side view of a LCM-6 so I wasn’t able to compare those two)

Hope this all makes sense

Thanks in advance for reacting

Kind regards
Mark
AlanL
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 14,499 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,919 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 - 02:34 PM UTC
Hi Mark,

I picked up you post on the big A see my reply there. Sorry I can't find the original post I spoke of, it will be there but with the new reorganisation I can't locate it at the moment.

Anyway Skipper and the rest of the crew will pick up on this one.

Cheers

Al
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 - 03:32 PM UTC
Hi Mark!