_GOTOBOTTOM
Site Related
Site related feedback, issues, or suggestions.
Drank the apple punch...
Clanky44
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,901 posts
Model Shipwrights: 934 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 02, 2008 - 04:47 PM UTC
Lori and I took the plunge and have switched over to a i-Mac. After 2 decades of troubled PC usage, and being constantly bombarded by Mac using friends, we drove over to the Apple store in Toronto and after being assured by the staff that our fears where mostly unfounded decided to take the plunge. Should be a bit of a learning curve, but one I'm looking forward to.

Frank
skipper
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 5,182 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,070 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 03, 2008 - 01:07 AM UTC
Welcome to the Mac world!

The main difference is on some keyboard shortcuts, the rest is pretty much the same!
I have been working with Mac and PC's since 1992, and Mac has always been much more user friendly! Now things are almost leveled

Rui
Clanky44
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Sunday, August 03, 2008 - 07:51 AM UTC
Hi Rui,

Are there any software programs you would recommend?

I'm going to try out our current Nikon Capture 4 image software program, if it works fine we'll continue to use it, if not we'll switch over to Apple's Apperture program. Are you using a dedicated Canon program or the i-photo-Aperture programs?

Frank
skipper
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 5,182 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,070 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 03, 2008 - 12:11 PM UTC
Hi Frank

Well, although you get iPhoto, I only use it to manage the photos.
I use (call it professional deformation!!) Adobe Photoshop CS2 to edit my photos/images (including the banner and thumbnail images of MOD's and Features). I am pretty comfortable with it - after all I have worked with it since release 2.0

You also should get Office for Mac (helpful, and you will have a PC/Mac files)