_GOTOBOTTOM
New Content
Announcements on new content additions to the site.
Hi from Ray in Canada...newbie on board....
bravozulu
Visit this Community
Manitoba, Canada
KitMaker: 124 posts
Model Shipwrights: 123 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 05:56 PM UTC
Just discovered this wonderfull site. I am on the Steelnavy and Modelwarships Forums, and never knew this existed till just now.
I build 700 scale and 350th scale plastic and resin kits. My main line of interest is US Navy post war, with
penchant to Cold War era navies. Also love Naval Aviation post war to present day. I am photographer here by profession, and in the 80s and 90s travelled extensively to all the big US Naval bases and stations and photographed the ships and aircraft of the US Fleet on Kodachrome slide film.....all of these are gems now because the ships are all gone, and planes with hooks too.
I would love to see a section in this forum where one could post nice large files of pictures of ships of all nations... my pet peeve is going to Navsource or other sites and clicking on a thumbnail and having a 4 inch by five inch lo res picture come up so horribly pixellated you cant see anything. Being a ship modeler I want to pull down a ship image and bring it up with a couple clicks and still see ship board details.
I reside in Winnipeg, Canada. Wherezat you say??? I am landlocked, north of North Dakota of the USA, just between those two big lakes on the map. As far as one can get from salt water. My retirement dream is to get the heck out of here and move to either East Coast or West Coast and hang out on the harbor front...... with a nice looking lady of course...and my camera. Anyone may email me off list at [email protected] .
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 10:20 PM UTC
Ahoy Ray, and echoing my previous post concerning your avatar, Welcome to Model Shipwrights!