_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling: Super-detailing
Topics on photo-etch, metal-parts, and all types of additional detailing.
rigging for u-boat
busteroni
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 2 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 02:15 PM UTC
I am new to boats and thought I would try my hand at a U-Boat. I am doing the Revelll VII D. My question is; what is the best material to use for the rigging and what would anybody suggest to make those swivel looking things that connect the cabels. Thanks
grayghost666
KitMaker: 2,458 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,423 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 07:10 PM UTC
hello Ken,
first off Welcome to MSW,this is a great place for ship builders.
per your question:some use stretched spruce,others use fishing line and still others use clear nylon thread.if is realy up to you.i have tried the spruce idea,but i had no luck with it.i am now using clear nylon thread for my builds.
as to your other question,i have not done a submarine yet so i do not know what to tell you.if you look through the posts i know that there are a couple of guy's that build sub's will proberly know what you need to do.sorry i can not help you there.
again,Welcome to the site.
cheers,
Bruce
edit:try to PM Jay Massey(treadhead1952)i know he has built some sub's.i am not sure if he has done the one you are doing but i know he has done some U-Boats.good luck on your build.
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 09:40 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I am new to boats and thought I would try my hand at a U-Boat. I am doing the Revelll VII D. My question is; what is the best material to use for the rigging and what would anybody suggest to make those swivel looking things that connect the cabels. Thanks

Ahoy Ken,
Welcome to Model Shipwrights mate!