_GOTOBOTTOM
New Content
Announcements on new content additions to the site.
Brit & French nuke subs fender bender
Tarok
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 10,889 posts
Model Shipwrights: 79 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 15, 2009 - 04:47 PM UTC
Now I have limited knowledge of naval related matters, but could probably hold my own in a convo - dad was a civvie seconded to the South African Navy.

But could someone please tell me how in the hell two 150m long, 13m in diameter nuclear submarines collide in open ocean? British and a French nuclear-powered submarines crash in the Atlantic Ocean. Seriously! What the heck!?!?

Maybe they were both running on supa-stealth mode?

Rudi
goldenpony
Visit this Community
Zimbabwe
KitMaker: 3,529 posts
Model Shipwrights: 2,419 posts
Posted: Monday, February 16, 2009 - 01:50 AM UTC
From the article there is not much info about what the subs were doing together. If they really were on separate missions and submerged when they hit each other then somebody will get fired over that. A submarine is a very stealthy boat. They can be very quite and can actually hide in water. Sound is bent and deflected in water. It creates blind/deaf spots in the water. There are layers in the water based on temperature and salinity of the water. Sound travels differently in each layer. One sub can be inside a layer masking its sound and another can be just outside the layer and cannot hear the other.

Deep water has lower background water than shallow water. Water moving through a straight is very loud compared to water in the middle of the ocean. Nuclear submarines are very quiet and unless they were running at speeds above say 15 knots they would be very stealthy. Other than the screw making noise the loudest part on a nuclear sub are the circulation pumps on the reactor. I could go into some technical stuff, but I won’t. The pumps will make noise if they are used, so natural circulation is used up to a certain power level.