_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Rat lines.
tigermothtimoth
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 21 posts
Model Shipwrights: 2 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 05, 2009 - 06:45 PM UTC
I am an aircraft modeler who is interested in attempting ship modeling and know next to nothing about it. I found a cheap, elderly Airfix model of HMS Victory; (not sure of the scale). It is complete except for the rat lines, but it has a drawing which I believe shows how they should be trimmed. Does anyone have a suggestion of how I could use this, and describe the technique and material to fabricate new ones. I have some ideas, but perhaps this is something that is well know to experienced ship makers.
I don't know about the quality, accuracy, etc of this model but even if it is suspect in these areas it's really an experimental project for me and any advice would be appreciated by a sixty-two year old newbie.
CaptSonghouse
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,274 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,236 posts
Posted: Friday, August 07, 2009 - 05:27 AM UTC
Hi Brinker!

What scale (or size) is your Victory model? That will help in choosing the ratline fabrication method.

--Karl
tigermothtimoth
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 21 posts
Model Shipwrights: 2 posts
Posted: Friday, August 07, 2009 - 05:43 AM UTC
First of all, I said Airfix when I should have said Revell. There is no scale marked and I believe this would have been one of their early "box scale" models. As near as I can figure the scale is approximately 1:200.
jowady
KitMaker: 1,027 posts
Model Shipwrights: 51 posts
Posted: Friday, August 07, 2009 - 03:40 PM UTC