_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Any SBS on using brass supports for stands?
GALILEO1
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
KitMaker: 1,794 posts
Model Shipwrights: 47 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 14, 2010 - 06:47 AM UTC
Hi all,

As I am new to ship building I'm trying to find some sort of 'guide' (or at least a discussion) on using/installing metal (brass?) stands for ship models. As I am building my very first ship (sub) I thought about getting some nice brass pieces to use as stands as the ones provided by Trumpeter are not all that well done.

Any feedback on this will be appreciated!

Rob
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 14, 2010 - 10:58 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Hi all,

As I am new to ship building I'm trying to find some sort of 'guide' (or at least a discussion) on using/installing metal (brass?) stands for ship models. As I am building my very first ship (sub) I thought about getting some nice brass pieces to use as stands as the ones provided by Trumpeter are not all that well done.

Any feedback on this will be appreciated!

Rob

Ahoy, Rob,
Glad to see that you've jumped into the salty side of the hobby, mate!
What sub are you building? Us shipbuilders LOVE details, my friend, please fill us in!

As far as an SBS for pedestal display stands, Here is a good one to check out....

Cheers,
~Gunny
GALILEO1
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
Posted: Friday, January 15, 2010 - 02:40 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Ahoy, Rob,
Glad to see that you've jumped into the salty side of the hobby, mate!
What sub are you building? Us shipbuilders LOVE details, my friend, please fill us in!