_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Carriers
Topics on all types of carriers from the early 20th century to today.
DML USS Independence CVL-22 1/350
Dangeroo
Visit this Community
Zurich, Switzerland
KitMaker: 2,058 posts
Model Shipwrights: 163 posts
Posted: Monday, February 14, 2011 - 08:21 AM UTC
Hi all! My first build log here. As promised after the review here, I'm starting this build log to show you how she builds. This will be a slow build as I have two other builds to finish but I hope to show you the main components, guns, planes etc. and I can do the mass production once you've seen how those components build.

Now since I'm new to the ship business I am very happy for any comments, criticisms and tips you can provide! (Incidentally, I would be even if I wasn't new...

Cleaned up the work bench to make room, the box is huge :

Contrary to the instructions I started with the hull first. Top is dry fitted, bottom is glued:

Two things to watch out for here: Fit is not that tight, so be sure to align the two halves correctly before the glue sets. It will save you all the sanding I had to do...
Second, if you want to use the stand, be sure to drill out the mounting holes for it before this step. This is not pointed out in the instructions. Fortunately for me the plastic was slightly discolored where the stand goes so I was able to save it.

Detail shot of the bow. There is some damage from the sprue attachment where DML removed the sprue from the upper hull. These will not be covered and have to be filled.

Going on to the hangar deck, be sure to have some kind of system with the instructions. They are so crammed it's easy to lose track of what's fitted and what not. I mark the numbers I have fitted already. Also note all the pin marks on this part. They won't be that evident if you don't mount a light inside the hangar but some may wish to remove them which is hard to do.

Parts fitted to the inside hangar wall: