_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
airbrushing technique
Fathom
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 62 posts
Model Shipwrights: 27 posts
Posted: Friday, June 03, 2011 - 02:27 PM UTC
Im about to paint a 1/700 destroyer and want to camo it. I'm new to airbrushing, and my attempts to mask a hard edge resulted in a noticable paint buildup along the edge of the Tamiya masking tape. How does one avoid this? Any tips/advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Fathom
Buckeye198
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 596 posts
Model Shipwrights: 39 posts
Posted: Friday, June 03, 2011 - 03:05 PM UTC
Hello hello! If you're new to airbrushing, then the simplest advice is to get better aquainted with your brush. Just curious, what model brush did you get? The easiest solution to avoiding paint buildup that I can think of is to simply spray less paint. Again, the ability to do this will come the more you use your brush, but for now, just remember to always keep the brush moving, and to do so smoothly! If you go too fast, the paint won't go where you want. If you go too slow, you'll get the buildup that you're hoping to avoid. Also, be sure your brush is always perpendicular to the surface you want to paint (at least for painting large sections like a hull or wings)...the hull most likely won't be completely flat, so take into account the angle you're spraying at. It's entirely possible that you're actually spraying a bit under the tape. Which leads me to my next point: make sure the tape is well burnished before painting! (Also if you're taping over a previously painted section, be sure the tape is firm enough to hold but weak enough that it won't strip the paint when you SLOWLY AND CAREFULLY peel it back!) So recap time:

1. Keep the brush moving smoothly across the target;
2. Keep the brush perpendicular to the target;