_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
1/72 type ixc U Boat
bikehead90
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 16 posts
Model Shipwrights: 6 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 04:56 PM UTC
So this is my first time posting on this site -- I usually build armor -- and I was needing some help with a ship model. Recently I have built some of the biggest armor of WW2 (german Maus, British Tortoise, U.S. T-95 ect) and I have run out of steam for armor for the time being. Initially I wanted to build Revell's 1/72 GATO. But due to it being very popular, paired with the discontinuation of the kit, this has resulted in over-inflated prices for this masterpiece. So my next bet is the type IXC Uboat. Unfortunately this kit is only a few months old, so those nice aftermarket parts are hard to come by. I guess this post is me asking for tips. I found this guy's build of the XIIC and almost don't want to attempt it, because of how insanely good it is, but, dang-it, I'm going to try.
I've been building armor for quite some time, but I've never gone into the amount of detail as this guy has. I just want to know where to start. I'm thinking either salt or hairspray, or both for the heavy rust look. How do I get the heavy salt water wear look? I want this ship to look like it has had a rough career.
Logan
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 523 posts
Model Shipwrights: 26 posts
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2014 - 01:28 AM UTC
HI

In addition to some builds and info here, try:

http://models.rokket.biz/index.php?PHPSESSID=9sdb0g0ck0k02s8lnqt8hlhon4&board=64.0

and:

http://www.shipmodels.info/mws_forum/viewforum.php?f=59

HTH

Tom
Aurora-7
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 1,020 posts
Model Shipwrights: 630 posts
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2014 - 03:17 AM UTC