_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Carriers
Topics on all types of carriers from the early 20th century to today.
Hasegawa 1/350 IJN Akagi 1941
warreni
Visit this Community
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 5,926 posts
Model Shipwrights: 2,624 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 31, 2014 - 03:27 PM UTC
Finally I stopped vacillating and picked my next build.

Hasegawa'a IJN Akagi was released several years ago now and was accompanied by numerous sets of PE, a wooden deck set and barrels for its guns.

The kit has a total of 43 sprues and if you use all the PE in the appropriate Hasegawa sets there are 1758 parts in total. Lots and lots of parts but only a few colours needed for the ship itself, grey and brick red. I will be using Tamiya XF-9 Hull Red and XF-77 Sasebo Arsenal Grey. An interesting bit of trivia I have found, Tamiya paints last a very long time. I have been using the same bottle of XF-9 for over 15 years now and it is still good. Don't think I haven't used other bottles of the same colour but this bottle, the old large style bottle, I found hiding away in a box with some other paints I bought around 1995 while I was on posting to Tindal in the NT. There was only one place within 350 km that stocked Tamiya paints and that was the general store in Katherine.

But I am getting side tracked. On with the introduction.

This is one big ship! And it has many many many port holes, all of which need to be drilled out with a 0.88mm drill.. Can you define tedium?

Then we get to the rest of the elements of the build, except the Master barrel set I forgot to take a picture of.. I think they were just pop-guns anyway way too low to be of much danger to anyone but the crews manning them due to the risk of water ingress in rough seas..

Here are the Instruction booklet and reference book that came with the model. Many black and white photos but I am not sure of their usefulness..

Then we have the deck marking decals.

The aircraft marking decals.