_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Carriers
Topics on all types of carriers from the early 20th century to today.
Trumpeter 1/350 Saratoga
Mgunns
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,423 posts
Model Shipwrights: 99 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 11:13 PM UTC
Greetings:
I have posted to the air side of the house but this is my first time on the ship side. I have always been interested in aviation, Naval aviation in particular including the ships that take planes to faraway places, this especially includes the early carriers. When Trumpeter fist issued this kit, I was thrilled, but then I got it, lost interest due to the bad press and sold it. Lately, the interest has been piqued and I thought I would build one, just to test my shipbuilding chops. I approached the build to do an OOB build, detail areas lacking, not get wrapped around the axle with accuracy issues as I didn't want to get bogged down with the build. Here it is folks:

The aircraft are the Trumpeter 1/350 suitable for the era. I used the "Starfighter" decals and Gold Medal Models PE Specifically for the Saratoga Airwing for the aircraft and the "Fighting Cock" on the stack. I don't think the rooster appeared for long on the stack, but I liked it, it came with the decals and I used it.

The Photo Etch I used is from Loren Perry's Gold Medal Models for the Saratoga.

I did use the Stern book for reference but mainly for adding details, as mentioned I didn't want to get bogged down with scratchbuilding the flag plot and other details. I know there was a machine gun tub on the number two and three turrets, but again, my scratch building skills, or lack thereof precluded me from adding these.

The "SARA" on the aft end of the fight is also from the Starfighter decal sheet.

I added ladders, vent tubes, platforms and a davit to the stack to busy it up a bit.