My first Submarine (I-19)
helkaissy
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 244 posts
Model Shipwrights: 9 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 03, 2015 - 02:51 AM UTC
Good Morning to all ship builders

Mainly I am an Armored vehicles modeler but I thought to try something different so I am totally a beginner here.
I decided to build the Japanese I-19 by AFV club.
This is the first time ever to build a sub and first attempt to create a water line.
I am aware of many flaws in this work, mainly the distance between the waves and the sub body because I did the base on the trace of the sub and was afraid to ruin it by sticking the waves on it.
I also need advice about how to create the wires on a sub or ship, i used these knitting thread I found at home but they turned out to have these small bits coming out and when I painted it they clogged a lot. so can you advise me the best type of wire to use for such project?

Here is the build:

The Kit:

Photoetch parts:

Primer

The string

assembled model:

Making the base:
Plaster

The finished model and base:

Thanks for letting me know your advise on how to improve on my next model
CaptSonghouse
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,274 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,236 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 03, 2015 - 03:38 AM UTC
There is no reason for criticism here: the finish is first rate (you are obviously an accomplished armor modeler), and your premiere water base is excellent. As for your rigging question, stretched sprue works best for me, even if it's tricky to handle.

For your next ship, try placing it at an angle to the borders of the water base to up the visual interest factor a notch.

Well done!

--Karl
TRM5150
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 2,159 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,400 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 03, 2015 - 04:09 AM UTC