_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Detailing Modern Subs
Tanker25
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
KitMaker: 180 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 14, 2004 - 06:45 PM UTC
hello all, I got a DML kits for Typoon, Ohio, LA and Alfa. When ur done building them, how do u paint it and weather it? what other finishing techniques should i do? if i sanded of the panel lines, how do i reproduce it?

newbie here
GIBeregovoy
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
KitMaker: 1,612 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 14, 2004 - 08:35 PM UTC
Hey Tanker25! :-) I did my first submarine - a Revell 1/400 Typhoon class SSBN - for the Twilight 2000 campaign of last year. You can see the pix at my gallery link, under the album Twilight 2000.

The Revell kit's hull was in two, the joint running horizontally separating the top and bottom halves. What I did was use tube cement (yep, that cement which some users now forget to use #:-) ) and applied a fairly liberal amount of it on the surface to be joined. I then pressed the halves together, deliberatly causing some of the cement/plastic to form "bubbles" along the seam. The reason? To erase the seam as much as possible. When dry, I use my hobby knife with a new blade to scrape them off.

Now, it wasn't perfect, and there was still a visible seam (actually, some gaps were still apparent), and so what I did was place tape above and below the seam. This would protect the anechoic tile detail from the putty and later sanding of the cured putty. For putty, I used Milliputt, because I can remove it with just water before it cures. Having done that, I then proceeded to sand off the putty. The result was that much of the anechoic tile detail was not harmed by the heavy sanding. The seam was then gone. Of course some of the detail was lost, so what I did was rescribe the panel lines with the blunt end of my hobby knife.