_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
4 Carrier dio/display
SOW1
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 289 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 14, 2004 - 08:24 PM UTC
Stug and I have been busy grinding our teeth late into the night working on a 4 carrier dio/display for a retirement gift for one of the guys he works with.. Let me tell you as a non traditional modeler I was thoroughly stressed by the miniscule details on these ships. Granted , I only did folding of the wings on some of the jets on deck, and some minor painting, but sheesh... I don't know how you guys that do those ships in such great detail manage to do so without going blind. I also did the easiest part for the display... THE FRAME AND WATER.lol I'll stick to that... I doubt Stug will post any photos as he's not very pleased with the thing, but I'm pleased with him and myself for our tenacity in completing the friggin; thing.
foxroe
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 50 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 01:26 AM UTC
Detailing can be pretty frustrating. I think that it's more important that the model be pleasing to the eye of the builder... after all, it's supposed to be fun! So I say go ahead and post some pictures! I think that the people that look at the pictures will be more appreciative of the subject and the effort and far less critical of the appearance or the builder's skill.

Todd
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Model Shipwrights: 69 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 01:46 AM UTC
I've done a few 1/72 (usually do 1/35) and have to agree with SOW1 - it drives you blind going small scale.

I encourage Stug to post images. I bet it's worth of an On DIsplay too.
SOW1
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 289 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 07:47 AM UTC