_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Ships, tanks, boats and planes !
garrybeebe
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 1,969 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, January 19, 2004 - 07:35 PM UTC
I have been building warships for around 20 years now, and I could not do this without also being a aircraft and armor builder also ! For me they just go hand and hand. And when at times I start getting bogged down with a subject, I can change to a different subject and get a fresh start! History being the one main thing that ties them all together. And there is benifits to working with different types of models, I learn special techniques on ships that I can use on Armor models. The same goes with aircraft, And I find I enjoy it more that way!
Does anyone else find there modeling like this? Or are you deticated to one type of model?

Cheers to you all! Garry
ave
Visit this Community
Klang, Malaysia
KitMaker: 417 posts
Posted: Monday, January 19, 2004 - 09:34 PM UTC
Yup, thats exactly the case with me. I remember when I was about 8 the only reason i bought models were becuase they were military stuff and they looked 'cool' and had guns on them.
Come to think of it thats still the reason i buy them.
TreadHead
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
Model Shipwrights: 453 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 20, 2004 - 03:27 AM UTC

YEP! You're 'spot-on' mate! Before my recent turn to the armour side of modeling, I was a real 'wingy' thing modeler (I have boxes of my old AC models back on the East Coast stored at my Mum's house). Before that (believe it or not) I built some boats, mainly sailing ships because at the time my Da was teaching my how to rig WW I biplanes. So the transition was natural. I even built a PT-109 (grew up in the days of Kennedy).