_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling: Super-detailing
Topics on photo-etch, metal-parts, and all types of additional detailing.
A/M Wooden Decks
Black3Actual
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 16 posts
Model Shipwrights: 9 posts
Posted: Monday, January 09, 2017 - 09:02 AM UTC
Gents (Ladies?),

I am new to ship modeling, but am afflicted with AMS (Advanced Modeling Syndrome). I am going to try my hand at a 1/350 kit, and have started looking at all the after market stuff made for these kits. Something I've noticed is that the wooden replacement decks seem to cause a 'step-up' look on the kits I've seen.

IN THE GENERAL OPINION OF THE BOARD: are these wooden replacement decks worth the money and trouble? Are some companies better than others? Or is it best just to go with a good paint scheme to represent the wood decks?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and time.

Joe
TRM5150
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 2,159 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,400 posts
Posted: Monday, January 09, 2017 - 10:08 AM UTC
Hi Joe! Best of luck in your ship building ventures! With that said...the deck question is a personal call. I like both the looks of the wooden deck replacements...even with the "step-up" as well as painting a deck to look realistic. Some of the decks don't look as thick as the others and things like careful painting and railings help to hide the edges somewhat. Not to mention, depending on the kit, the plastic decks sit slightly low enough to make the transition smoother. I have used Artwox decking and they are easy to use and look pretty good...Pontos has a number of sets depending on your subject, as does Hasagawa. What kit are you thinking of doing? Maybe one of the folks here may have used a variant of decking/paining to hep you along!
Black3Actual
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Posted: Monday, January 09, 2017 - 10:13 AM UTC
Hi Todd,