_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
1/192 or 1/200 non-slip decals/transfers?
USMA15
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 32 posts
Model Shipwrights: 15 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 06:42 AM UTC
Hi friends,

Is anyone aware of 1/192 or 1/200 non-slip decals or transfers? I'm looking for a set (if one exists!) for my Bluejacket 1/192 Samuel B Roberts which I am building as DE 404 USS Eversole. Photos in my reference books do show non-slip pathways on the deck of these ships.

Thanks, and happy modelling!

-Andrew
damoore46
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 107 posts
Model Shipwrights: 26 posts
Posted: Saturday, April 01, 2017 - 09:18 PM UTC
I am a newbie at ship modelling, so I am afraid that I don't have anything to offer on transfers or decals. However, the real non-skid was made with either silica or sand mixed in the epoxy paint. Maybe the same could be simulated by using a small amount of baby powder or talc in diluted paint?

David
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
Model Shipwrights: 173 posts
Posted: Saturday, April 01, 2017 - 11:37 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I am a newbie at ship modelling, so I am afraid that I don't have anything to offer on transfers or decals. However, the real non-skid was made with either silica or sand mixed in the epoxy paint. Maybe the same could be simulated by using a small amount of baby powder or talc in diluted paint?

David