_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
I have a question about waterlining a ship
jrnelson
Visit this Community
Iowa, United States
KitMaker: 719 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, February 23, 2004 - 01:12 PM UTC
Hi Guys-

My Koning just came in the mail today - and needless to say.. wow... I can't wait to get started. I have a few questions for the seasoned ship builders out there. This will be my first ship, so pardon the basic questions :-)

First off - I have done many armor models with PE, single link tracks, etc. so I'm not a novice at building kits in general..... please don't hold back on any techniques that might be pretty advanced - that is what I am after :-)

Question number one.... I want to make the Koning into a waterline display. How do I go about doing that. I was gonna drill a ton of tiny holes under the waterline then connect them with a razor saw. Would this work, or is there a better way to do it? Along those lines - the waterline is not marked on the hull - should I just go by pictures, or does somebody have the proper "depth" this baby sat in the water.

hehehe - Question number two....... What do you guys use for rigging? There seems to be a bunch of wires, etc. and the instructions just say "thin black wire". Is there some special trick to this? I would think that thread would be too thick - but I haven't looked closely at any thread lately - so maybe I'm off base on that.

Question number three..... How do you guys usually paint these kits? I would like to airbrush as much as possible - and the instructions are not in the best sequence for painting with an airbrush. Do you guys skip around to make the painting easier? I also got the Toms PE set for the kit, and would like some tips on painting that as well. Do you guys assemble and paint everything, PE included, or do you put the etch on last after the painting is done, then hand paint the PE?