_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Carriers
Topics on all types of carriers from the early 20th century to today.
Question about the IJN Agaki aircraft carrier
Wolf-Leader
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
KitMaker: 1,225 posts
Model Shipwrights: 32 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 01:44 PM UTC
I'm SUPER DETAILING my Hasegawa 1/700th IJN Agaki and when I mean superdetail I'm talking about when its done and ready for paint,a good 75-80% of the kit will be completely PE brass!
So I would like to know if anyone knows of a company(s)that sells detailed lifeboats and its armament,such as the single 20cm guns,12cm AA guns,and the twin 25mm AA guns?
I don't know if anyone makes the weapons in resin/brass(PE)or even the lifeboat in resin/brass(PE).
Now I really don't know what the official names are for the lifeboats,because I'm new to building Japanese ships,maybe they're just called,lifeboats.
But if you guys know then that would be a huge help.
Thank you.
TimReynaga
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 2,500 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,830 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 02:49 PM UTC
Hi Jody,

Fine Molds makes some spectacular injection molded parts. Freetime has the 25mm singles and twins at
https://freetimehobbies.com/1-700-fine-molds-nano-dread-ijn-type-96-25mm-single-twin-machinegun-w-shield/.

Fine Molds also makes injection molded cutters (boats), 25mm ready use ammo boxes, and the larger caliber 12.7mm twins, although I believe the latter are of a later type than carried by Akagi - but they can still be the basis for upgrading the Akagi kit parts, if you are so inclined.
Littorio
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,728 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,080 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 03:00 PM UTC