_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Best large scale ship model kits?
cabasner
Visit this Community
Nevada, United States
KitMaker: 1,083 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3 posts
Posted: Friday, September 27, 2019 - 08:28 AM UTC
Hi All,

I am a modeler who has been building armor and just recently began building aircraft again. I am 61 years old, and built mostly airplanes when I was a child, but have been doing tanks and planes since getting back into the hobby some 10 years ago. I built some sailing ships as a kid, but have not touched a model ship as an adult.

I guess I would be partial to modern ships, probably World War II to current ships. I know that the larger scales are 1/350 and 1/200 for ship models. I'm curious if there are 'best' models in that time frame in and in those scales that would be appropriate for a modeler who hasn't built a ship model with current technology kits. Any thoughts that any of you experience ship builders would recommend? Thanks for your thoughts!
d6mst0
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,925 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,298 posts
Posted: Friday, September 27, 2019 - 09:18 AM UTC
Curt,

I found that large ships in 1/700 scale the easiest if you don't go overboard with Photo-Etch, just add railings. For 1/350 scale the ship with the least parts or a current release (New Tooling). I am working on a 10 year old Hasagawa kit that has a lot of fit issues. Also working on a HobbyBoss kit released last year and it is going together just wonderfully, no fit issues and the part count is not very high. I have not built anything at the 1/200 level and don't plan on too. If you are looking at a sailing ship start with something small and simple, like only one mast. That will give a good clue on how much work their is in rigging. The class of ship to choose can only be your choice. If you start one, please post progress pictures.

Mark
cabasner