_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
1/350 kit for HMAS Sydney
Naseby
Visit this Community
Slovakia
KitMaker: 825 posts
Model Shipwrights: 97 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 04:44 AM UTC
With the new line of RN cruisers from Trumpy I was wondering if there is a possibility to built one of them as the HMAS Sydney as per her configuration from the duel with KM Kormoran. Im no expert on RN stuff, so any advice is good.
ChurchSTSV
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 350 posts
Model Shipwrights: 175 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 04:53 AM UTC
I just watched the Drain The Oceans show on Nat Geo about the HMS Sydney and was wondering if I could find a good 1/700 of her too.

Besides resin because I have a mortgage and a family to pay for.
Littorio
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,728 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,080 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 05:40 AM UTC

Quoted Text

With the new line of RN cruisers from Trumpy I was wondering if there is a possibility to built one of them as the HMAS Sydney as per her configuration from the duel with KM Kormoran. Im no expert on RN stuff, so any advice is good.

HMAS Sydney was a modified Leander class light cruiser same class as HMS Ajax and HMNZS Achilles, in 1/350 we still don't have an injection plastic kit of a Leander. The only kit I know of in 1/350 is the resin kit from ISW.
Trumpeters kits so far announced/released are County class heavy cruisers and C-class light cruisers and HMS Belfast herself a modified Town/Southampton class light cruiser all completely different from Leanders.
1.90E_31
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 252 posts
Model Shipwrights: 89 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 08:07 AM UTC
Hi Luciano,

Our kit of the Ajax will not work for a modified Leander. However, things will be different next month.

Jon Warneke