_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Floating an idea about the new forum
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
KitMaker: 12,571 posts
Model Shipwrights: 267 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 24, 2020 - 02:36 PM UTC
Hi all,
You probably aren't all aware of this, but I have been working on replacement platforms for the site for several months now. This is going to be a migration to shiny, powerful, and up to date content management software and forums. This is going to take a while though as it means transitioning our active members to these new platforms.

What are we going to gain?

- Users will be able to add photos directly to posts in the forums without the need of a 3rd party image host or uploading to the gallery.

- Users will be able to create content like news, reviews, and features directly via a browser and again upload photos directly without the need to email text and photos, wait for an editor to act on them, etc. We will still have an approval queue but that should be quick and easy to get things posted.

- Forum topics will be linear. No pagination. Your last read position will always be saved on each post.

- Like... a zillion more forum features I can't list. Seriously this forum is considered THE best software our there right now and is being used by many large companies. This is just a few: https://www.discourse.org/customers

- More simply this is 'smart' software. It makes my forum code look like a slobbering babe.

What are we losing?

- Well we aren't losing the old sites content. That will all be saved in archive versions. So users will still be able to find and view old posts, reviews, etc.