_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Riverine Forces / Brown Water Navy
TreadHead
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
Model Shipwrights: 453 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 13, 2002 - 02:02 AM UTC
I have always been enthralled and impressed by this unique branch of the Navy. Quite like the GunTruck crews of the Transportation Battalions, these soldiers served in an almost 'created from scratch' type of warfare.
Originated by the French during the Indochina conflict, the U.S. Riverine Forces utilized an interesting fleet of shallow draft ships. All of these are great fodder for modeling.
My first question to the group is; do any of you also find the Riverine Forces interesting?
And second; have any of you modeled any of the craft?
Now, not being a big ship modeler, I will have to differ to the 'sailors' in the membership. I know Dragon makes the PBR, or'Pibber'. But most of the other craft would have to be scratchbuilt. They did use converted LCM's, LCVP's and the like. Would love to hear other's input here.

Tread.
Posted: Saturday, July 13, 2002 - 03:31 AM UTC
Tread,
The pibber is put out by Tamiya,and I believe theres a book on the brown water navy by
the same peop[le who put out the Armor in Vietnam books, Squadron had it listed.
But if my scratchbuilding skills were better I would love to build a model of the monitor,the converted landing craft ,had the turret in the front, Ithink it was a 40 mm bofors mounted in there? anyway lotas of interesting but way neglected subjects.
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 13, 2002 - 04:42 AM UTC