_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
My Bismarck - First Attempt at Ship
SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
KitMaker: 3,271 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 03:38 PM UTC
Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a warship, it's the vintage 1978 Tamiya 1/350 Bismarck with Eduard PE, any comments are greatly appreciated.

mj
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 1,331 posts
Model Shipwrights: 65 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 03:57 PM UTC
Dave,

I'm sorry, but the links don't seem to work. Do you have the pictures up yet on that site?

Mike

Jeepney
Visit this Community
Philippines
KitMaker: 1,538 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 04:01 PM UTC
Nice boat Dave!

Is the swastika supposed to be fuzzy?
mj
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 04:06 PM UTC
WOW!! Alright, Dave, nice job. I just ordered the Tamiya 1/350 Yamato, but I was going to shelve it until I thought I could do it justice. Looking at your Bismark, it may stay on the shelf for quite awhile. Don't know if I could come close to your quality. Way to go.

Mike

SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 04:12 PM UTC
Hi Guys, thank you for your encouraging words, it's my first attempt at the ships, so your comments means a lot to me.

MJ, I think if you had done some armor previously or aircraft, ships should be slightly easier (at least for me), the key I discovered is that you need to do masking really carefully, and since the scale is so big, so a little bit mistakes for me I can live with. And the painting is so much easier, after doing an ambush pattern, the ship's camo is a breather....
mj
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2002 - 04:26 PM UTC