_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Bismarck in progree pictures
SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
KitMaker: 3,271 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 10, 2002 - 01:59 PM UTC
Hi Fellow Modellers,

Here is some more in progress pictures of my Bismarck, Assembled the bridge and the smoking stack and painted them, still need to do detail paints for those parts. Any comment/suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

octupus
Visit this Community
Hong Kong S.A.R. / 繁體
KitMaker: 411 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 10, 2002 - 02:32 PM UTC
Dave,

You did put a lot of effort and time on the ship. It looks great, especially the paint job. Can't wait to see it finished. Sorry for not giving you any suggestion cause you know that I am not a battleship expert.

Steve

BroAbrams
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,546 posts
Model Shipwrights: 22 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 10, 2002 - 04:03 PM UTC
In FSM's first "Modelling the Second World War" There is a very good article on this model of the Bismark. According to it, the tops of the main guns were painted a yeloow/brown color very close to Grunbraun (RAL 8000) which denoted the particular campaign the bismark was fighting in. The tops of the little boats on the deck were painted to match.

The main gun boots were black and the main guns were a darker grey blue, almost schwarzgrau, but the turret matched the overall color. The non-wood decks were a similar schwarzgrau color.

The air recogntion swastikas were generally painted over or covered with canvas during operations.