_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling: Super-detailing
Topics on photo-etch, metal-parts, and all types of additional detailing.
Help with attaching cable on Submarine
gbkirsch
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 627 posts
Model Shipwrights: 93 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 03, 2007 - 10:06 AM UTC
I'm fairly new to ship building and have a question regarding the rigging/degaussing cables on the Revell 1/72 U Boat. Recently I used fishing line for another sub but I had to tie them to attach and then glued them to stay in place. Can someone here share with me a technique to properly attach rigging or cable on WW2 and modern warships? ALso what is the best line to use?

Thank you and please excuse my ingnorance on the subject...

Gary
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 03, 2007 - 04:29 PM UTC
Ahoy, Gary!
First off, mate, lets clarify a little somethin' somethin'. . .please don'tever be afraid to ask a question here, bro. . . there isn't one of us here that knows everything,and we all learn something (sometimes daily! ) that we don't know!

And a good question it is! I'm sure you're also going to get various responses to this question, and the best thing to do is to digest them all, then try a couple methods to see which one works best for you,and stick with it. . .I personally have tried lots of ways to rig both ships and subs, and have fallen upon the use of Lycra Thread, which is what the wingnuts use to rig their aeroplanes.
I use good old superglue (with an accelerator) to attach thread to mast, and thread to thread. . .

Fishing line works good too, because it is stiff and easy to glue, and accepts paint well, but I like the looks of the lycra thread in close-up pictures, and it has a bit of elastcity in it, so sagging is non-existent.

Lycra is available at most LHS and online hobby shops as well. . .
Keep Modeling,
~Gunny
Visit this Community