_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Airbrushing Technique
ehill015
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 10 posts
Model Shipwrights: 8 posts
Posted: Friday, June 15, 2007 - 02:08 PM UTC
Ok so i'm new to airbrushing. can anyone give me a few tips on how to select the right airbrush, how to use it, keep it clean, etc.? i'm just really trying to learn how it's done so my models look good when i'm done.
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 5,422 posts
Model Shipwrights: 5,079 posts
Posted: Friday, June 15, 2007 - 02:30 PM UTC
Hey guy.

For your first airbrush, go with something of good quality but reasonably priced. You can always get the "ultimate" airbrush as your skills improve.
Dixie Art
BearAir

As far as paint goes, you have the choice of acrylic or enamel.
If you go acrylic, Model Master has very good naval colors.
In enamel, White Ensign Models Colorcoat is the cat's meow. Awesome.

Cleanup with acrylic is cheap and easy ~ Windex shot through the brush when your done with the color. I get 1 qt bottles at the dollar tree.
With enamel, I use to shoot lacquer thinner through to clean the brush.
Either way, I always pull the needle and wipe it down before I shoot a new color or put the brush up.

What it boils down to is your personal preference. I have used both types of paint and they both worked great. I use acrylic now because I'm allergic to enamels. My first airbrush was a Badger 150. Good all around brush. As I got more confident with my skills, I upgraded brushes. I now use two airbrushes, an Iwata Revolution for general painting and a Grex for my fine detail.
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Friday, June 15, 2007 - 04:08 PM UTC