_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
newbie question
contactwaitout
KitMaker: 8 posts
Model Shipwrights: 6 posts
Posted: Monday, July 16, 2007 - 09:04 PM UTC
Hello all,
I am currently building a Revell 1:144 scale VIID minelayer U - Boat and would like to get some help regarding painting this boat, my experience level is not that high yet as i am only starting out. So if anyone out there has made this kit and wouldnt mind passing on some tips that would be great.
Thak you
Michael
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Monday, July 16, 2007 - 09:15 PM UTC
Ahoy, Michael,
Welcome to Model Sipwrights, mate!

Personally, have not built the kit, but I do know that it is a good one, for sure...there has been a few build threads regarding the minelenger in the past, while you're waiting for an answer, try out the search bar in the upper right corner of this page, my friend...you'll get some of the previous history...keep us posted of your build, Michael, and enjoy your stay here!
Cheers,
~Gunny
PeteV
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 172 posts
Model Shipwrights: 162 posts
Posted: Monday, July 16, 2007 - 09:32 PM UTC
Hi Michael,

As Gunny has already stated its is a good kit, I have got as far as putting the hull and deck together before I accepted that having 6 models on the go was not practical and put in back in the box or later.

Regarding painting, do you intend to spar with an airbrush or hand paint, the different methods could decide which paints you use.

The White Ensignj Models range of paints are good regarding colour but they are enamels with a longer drying time and not to every ones taste, I understand they brush paint OK but I have never used them in this manner so don`t take my word for it, they do spray well, I have used them in this way.