_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
New to ship modeling, need advice
luke_schwaller
Visit this Community
Herat, Afghanistan
KitMaker: 25 posts
Model Shipwrights: 24 posts
Posted: Monday, August 06, 2007 - 04:58 AM UTC
Hello, I am new to the hobby and i am seeking advice. I plan on modeling 1:700 scale (dont have a lot of space for larger scales) Can anyone recomend a good kit to start off with? Also, I was wondering how you all started on this small scale? I have been browsing this forum, the "/features" and the gallery for ideas and tips. Any other good reading online? (free if possible). I see there are quite a few books for sale, but I dont have a lot to spend on books, was hoping there would be some reading online. Thanks for the help and keep up the great work on the models, these great models on this site is what got me interested.
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Monday, August 06, 2007 - 05:06 AM UTC
Ahoy Luke!

Welcome aboard, mate!

1/700 scale, eh?...well clearly the most popular scale of ship kit producers, and there are many kits to choose from, my friend...are you thinking ship, or sub?

As far as other good reading, just Google "Ship Modeling", and you will come up with plenty! There are many other very reputable ship modeling sites out there, all with respected modelers and lots of great tips and techniques...

Cheers,
~Gunny
luke_schwaller
Visit this Community
Herat, Afghanistan
Posted: Monday, August 06, 2007 - 05:53 AM UTC
Thanks Gunny, I was thinking more along the line of a ship for my first project. I just read the feature on the "Harbor" and I really like that idea. I think that may be my first "Big" project, after i get a couple of "practice" ships completed. Thanks for the info, off to see what i can find on google.
Littorio
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom