_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
First 1/350 build ideas...
Preacher
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 31 posts
Model Shipwrights: 9 posts
Posted: Monday, September 10, 2007 - 11:21 PM UTC
Hi, folks. I am about to build my first 1/350 scale ship, but i cannot decide which it should be - except that i want to build a battleship or cruiser. I'm not a rank beginner, but neither am i expert like so many here. I would consider myself solidly average, having built several different scales and subjects (1/43, 1/20, and 1/12 cars, 1/35 and 1/72 armor, 1/32, 1/48, and 1/72 a/c, and 1/700 naval). Anyway, i've been looking at several of the Tamiya kits - Prince of Wales, Missouri, Bismarck, Yamato - and several Trumpeter kits, too - NC, Hood, etc.

Any suggestions for a first time 1/350 builder?

Thanks,
Ricky
Halfyank
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,221 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,821 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 01:15 AM UTC
First of all Ricky welcome to the wet side.

Next, pretty much forget about a cruiser, in plastic, unless you want to wait till the Trumpeter USS San Francisco comes out.

For a first ship in this scale you just can't do any better than Tamiya. Then it's just a matter of choosing one that interests you the most.

MartinJQuinn
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 574 posts
Model Shipwrights: 530 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 04:09 AM UTC
I know you said you want to build a battleship or cruiser, but if you really want a nice kit that goes together with a minimum of fuss, I'd try the Tamiya Fletcher:

It's a great little kit that I've really enjoyed building (this one just needs the PE added).