_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type
For discussions on ships by class and type.
Opinions needed
CReading
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,726 posts
Model Shipwrights: 42 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 02:20 AM UTC
I have little or no experience with ship models and I wanted to know if the 1:350 "Borodino" and "Orel", pre-dreadnought ship models by Zvezda are any good?
Detail, molding etc.
Also, any problem with availability of these kits? (like OOP) I notice at most web shops they do not have them readily available (in stock)

Are there any other model companies that make these (or this type) of ship in 1:350?
Any opinions or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Take it from an old AFV modeler...it's scary in here! Like walking way out on thin ice

Cheers,
Charles
MartinJQuinn
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 574 posts
Model Shipwrights: 530 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 02:53 AM UTC
It's not a bad kit - I have the Orel started. The plastic reminds me of the old Heller ship kits. Some fit issues, but nothing a little Bondo won't fix. Frank (Wildspear) was building one and had a thread going on it here (Frank, what ever happened to that build?).

There is also a discussion on this class of ships going on over at ModelWarships.com. You can get to that thread by clicking here

As for availability, try Pacific Front Hobbies or Free Time Hobbies, both of which list the Borodino and Orel (or Oriol, as Free Time listed it) in their on line catalogs.
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,704 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 02:56 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I have little or no experience with ship models and I wanted to know if the 1:350 "Borodino" and "Orel", pre-dreadnought ship models by Zvezda are any good?
Detail, molding etc.