_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Taking on the Akagi
snaga61
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 82 posts
Model Shipwrights: 81 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 05:25 PM UTC
Hi All,

Ship modeling newbie here. I've done armor, aircraft, etc. but no real experience with ships. I done the 350 Tamiya Enterprise about 20 years ago; built OOB, paint, etc. I know how to sequence a build, mostly.

BUT... this will be the 1st time I'm gonna do a 350 ship with PE so I'm a little lost with regards to sequence. I've seen some build logs where the PE went on before painting but I've read, here and else where that the PE is painted first, if possible, before putting on the model. I've been following Dade's Kongo build and he's put on some of the PE but has painted the hull before the PE rails. Which is the way to go?

Also, I would like to stick with Tamiya or Aqeous Hobby Color (Gungze?) acrylics. What is the closest equivalence to Kure Grey and Deck Linoleum?

I can't be the first to tackle this beauty (monster ) on this forum.
Karybdis
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
KitMaker: 846 posts
Model Shipwrights: 740 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 06:53 PM UTC
I would say (perhaps beg you even) to not make the Akagi your first ship with PE project. Even in 1/350, PE is really finicky stuff for ship models and is in a whole other world than PE for armor or aircraft. You might want to maybe build Tamiya's 1/350 Fletcher with PE first to get your feet wet before doing something like the Akagi as your first attempt.

That way, you can answer your own question about which sequence you prefer for PE- glue to hull and then paint, or paint before gluing. I would just hate for you to get disgruntled with something so big and pricey as the Akagi. PE is probably one of my strongest skills and that kit scares me!