_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Destroyers
This forum covers all types of destroyers from all eras.
Waterline 350th Isokaze
Clanky44
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,901 posts
Model Shipwrights: 934 posts
Posted: Monday, January 05, 2009 - 04:26 PM UTC
As most of you are keenly aware of by now... I am a tediously slow builder! ... the snails pace of my ship modelling is further exacerbated by my work, which keeps me away from the comforts of home most of the time... excuses,... excuses you say,... well yes, but with that said, I've made it my (modelling) new years resolution to shake the doldrums away,... and here's how...

First off, build smaller models!!! It seems that I'm attracted by big shiny (expensive) models, unfortunately, these same big models take forever to complete.

Secondly, do away with all reference, if these Japanese models of Japanese ships researched and designed by Japanese engineers are flawed, then how the heck is this land-lubber westerner supposed to make out?!?

Thirdly, BUILD moron!... put aside the X-box controller and pick up the airbrush!... I cannot begin to count the days waisted in front of the TV with a controller in hand,.... very sad.

Fourth, take the models with me on the work stints, what else am I going to do in northern Ontario in the middle of winter!

... so with my rant over, I bring you the first of (hopefully) many smaller kits which I plan on completing this year... my good friend Steve bought me this model for my birthday recently, and being a multi-media kit, has pretty well everything I need in the box to make a great looking (and easy) model. The kit comes with a dedicated, comprehensive fret of PE, chains, turned barrels and brass depth charges

Clanky44
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Monday, January 05, 2009 - 04:59 PM UTC