_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Beginners 1:350 King George V Build
SqzMyLemon
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 66 posts
Model Shipwrights: 60 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 22, 2009 - 11:19 AM UTC
Hello everyone

Here goes...I'm finally taking the plunge and thought I'd jump in feet first with my first ship model build. As stated in the topic, I'm a beginner as far as ships are concerned, so I thought that showing my build on here:

1) might be inspiration for others who have never done this before.
2) take advantage of the incredible knowledge and suggestions from the experienced modelling community on this site.
3) and actually have me finish the kit with some encouragement from others.

The inspiration for building this kit comes from my Great Uncle who was a Machinist's or Boiler's Mate on the ship during World War 2. My Uncle is in his early 90's so I'm hoping I can complete the kit soon to show him.

Besides the kit, I've purchased some WEM photo-etched sets, the "Ultimate King George V" photo-etched brass set, RN cable reels, and Fukuya replacement barrels for the 14" and 5.25" armament. Any other additions I'll add as I go.

Pictures will follow once I can convince my photographer spouse to help with taking some images for me. Let's just say she'll need some convincing!

So for those that may choose to follow this build, welcome. I hope I can make it enjoyable for you, and don't look like a complete newbie! I welcome all suggestions, tips, information and critiques...Ultimately I hope to become a better modeller from this experience and look forward to the challenge.

Thanks in advance

Joseph
CaptSonghouse
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,274 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,236 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 22, 2009 - 11:25 AM UTC
Bon voyage, Joseph! It should be a rewarding build.

--Karl
grayghost666
KitMaker: 2,458 posts