_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Building My First Ship Model
Northwestern
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 349 posts
Model Shipwrights: 57 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 23, 2009 - 05:25 PM UTC
Well

After attending my local IPMS meeting and hearing the theme of our Best of the West model show was "Made in the USA" I had to start thinking of something unique

Normally I am an armor modeler, I just love tanks, but after watching the movie They Were Expendable I decided that nothing said made in USA better than the legendary Elco 80' PT Boat

I have ordered the Italeri 1/35 kit and Lion Roar's impressive photo etch set. Once I get everything, I am gonna get started, and I am going to post occasional pics here so I can get some progressive feedback and criticism. I am going to go look for some reference books this week, so I can make necessary changes and improvements
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 24, 2009 - 09:43 AM UTC
You will have a ball building this puppy. Everyone who has has loved it. Keep in mind, the boats in the movie were early versions. The kit is a full fledged endo of the war big time GUNSHIP !!!. Oh and Italerie also makes a nice set of crew figures that go with it. I think there are 10 of the little fellows, but don't hold me to it. You can pick them up at a reasonable price on ebay ...AAA models has them

Oh and as my friend Keith says...."Welcoime to the darkside". We'll get you so hooked on ships that tanks will become a side line....I know I buy one or two armor kits a year now...of course in the stash I still have a ton of Tigers, panthers etc
Northwestern
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Posted: Wednesday, May 27, 2009 - 12:43 PM UTC
I didn't mean that I was going to build an early war version, the movie was just my inspiration