_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Battleships
Topics from the Dreadnaught era to modern day.
Hosted by Steve Joyce
Help on Starting up a Tamiya Yamato 1/700
AisKits
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4 posts
Posted: Saturday, October 03, 2009 - 05:16 PM UTC
Hello there im new to kitmaker as well as to modelkit making, i have always wanted to do so and now that i had some tool laying around and have the money to get the rest i tought i would. So i got a Tamiya Yamato 1/700 Full Hull and im preety los on all the basicas so if anyone could lead me the right way i would be gratefull. I bought some sets of paint but i dont know if i should use acrylic or enamels, also i dont know if i need a lacquer and wich one i should buy. Preety much all my quetions are about the painting, oh by the way i have an airbrush and a compressor too and some base colors.
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Sunday, October 04, 2009 - 10:39 AM UTC
Paints. Acrylic or enamel is pretty much a matter of choice. As you have an airbrush use the type that works best with your system. Japanes battleships pretty much are mono colored. So for the Yamato you will want to paint the lower hull a dull reddish color (there are colors available called hull red which are perfect). The deck pretty much is wooden....a teak color which a light tan color will work. The Ship was panted in Kure Gray which is a very very dark gray. In enamels, I use Testors engine gray. I think Tamiya acryicls has a Kure Gray color As to painting the kit. Do the 2 colors on the hull, taping to get a nice strainght separation. Then protect the hull sides glue the deck on and paint it the deck color, taping off metal areas for the Kure gray. Build your gun turrets and superstruckure up and paint them separately prior to assembly and you should have just the small molded on detail to spot up on the deck.
potchip