_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling: Super-detailing
Topics on photo-etch, metal-parts, and all types of additional detailing.
Attaching Photo Etch Railings
Enigma1
Visit this Community
Minnesota, United States
KitMaker: 53 posts
Model Shipwrights: 9 posts
Posted: Friday, July 02, 2010 - 02:25 PM UTC
This is my first attempt at photo etch. After installing portholes, doors, and other details to my Bismarck it would seem all that is left are the railings. I have been using Gator Glue for the photo etch, but it does not seem to glue the pieces very well. Having to on many occasions reapply more glue after the part fell off while positioning. Am I using this product wrong, or should I use CA Any help would be appreciated And if anybody is interested I also used KA Models wood deck and the pieces fit perfect, and not being very artistic it looks better than it would have if I had painted it!
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 5,422 posts
Model Shipwrights: 5,079 posts
Posted: Friday, July 02, 2010 - 03:06 PM UTC
Scott, how long are you letting the glue set up? My glue takes about 10 minutes to dry, think of it like using white glue. Now, I do know that several customers tack the the first part of the railing in place with CA and then use Gator Glue to finish gluing the railing down. My glue's bond is much stronger than CA once it's dried and cured.

May I ask you a couple of questions about your bottle of glue? What is the consistency of the glue? Is it creamy or lumpy? If its creamy, then the glue is fine. If it's lumpy, then it sounds like you have a bottle that froze, in which the glue is ruined, Did you thin the glue? If it is too thin then the bond will be too weak. I don't thin mine at all.

Kenny
bigal07
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 887 posts
Model Shipwrights: 575 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 04, 2010 - 08:38 AM UTC