_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Where to Start IJN Aircraft carriers
IJ-CON
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 3 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 29, 2010 - 02:00 PM UTC
Hi guys,

I'm new to shipbuilding and was looking for some advice of where to start. I have plently of experience in building armour and aircraft kit but was keen to build a ship.

I'm mainly interested in IJN aircraft carriers and would appricate any kit recommendations.

Cheers in advance,

IJ-CON
potchip
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 85 posts
Model Shipwrights: 67 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 29, 2010 - 08:34 PM UTC
First is to decide on the scale. In general carriers are available at 1/350 or 1/700. The new tool Akagi from Fujimi at 1/700 is great at ~$30 dollars. Hasegawa also does a 1/350 Akagi, more expensive of course, make it $350.

If you are an armour modeler before you'd be reasonably comfortable with PE and you might consider the aftermarket parts available. Rough rule double the cost
IJ-CON
Visit this Community
Australia
Posted: Sunday, August 29, 2010 - 09:59 PM UTC
Thanks, Potchip,

I’m still undecided on the scale, but I’ve seen both the new Fujimi 1/700 and 1/350 Hasegawa Akagi on HobbyLink Japan website, which both looks very good. Do the 1/700 kits build up to a reasonable size?

I noticed there is also the older 1/450 Hasegawa Akagi as well and have heard it’s not too bad? I see there is a couple of PE sets available (and I’m reasonable comfortable with PE). Any views?
potchip
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 85 posts
Model Shipwrights: 67 posts
Posted: Monday, August 30, 2010 - 02:50 AM UTC
Disclaimer: I'm strictly 1/700 so I'm biased. 1/700 being the main scale has more choices, both in terms of kits and aftermarket. Typically IJN carriers build up to about 30-35 cm in length.