_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
newbie signing in
loftycomfort
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 12 posts
Model Shipwrights: 12 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 04, 2012 - 07:32 AM UTC
Hi all,

Allow me to intro myself. My name is Terry and I am new to this forum. I'm new to ship modeling, but not new to the modelling hobby - I've been building 1/32 jet kits for a while and am a ARC member.

I just purchased my first couple of ship kits, a USS Iwo Jima LHD-7, and a USS Independence LCS-2, both at 1/350. I'm very excited about starting the Iwo Jima soon, so I thought I'd join this forum to pick your brains on ship building techniques.

Ok, first question: what is the consencus on the best route for 1/350 figures on modern ships? I know Eduard makes figures PE, but they look "flat". Fujimi makes injection molded IJN figures that can be painted to any colors. Any other options that look good and are easy to procure? Thank you for your help.

Cheers,

Terry
Visit this Community
West Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 398 posts
Model Shipwrights: 292 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 04, 2012 - 08:06 AM UTC
Hi Terry,

We stock resin figures from L'Arsenal that are about the best you can find. Item AC 350-25 are figures in static poses, while AC 350-33 has figures in action poses. You can browse here:

https://www.whiteensignmodels.com/c/LArsenal/265/1/

or just type the item numbers into the Search function.

loftycomfort
Visit this Community
Canada
Posted: Wednesday, January 04, 2012 - 08:33 AM UTC
Thank you, John. Just ordered some from you.

Cheers,

Terry
robtmelvin
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
KitMaker: 205 posts
Model Shipwrights: 163 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 04, 2012 - 09:00 AM UTC