_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Battleships
Topics from the Dreadnaught era to modern day.
Hosted by Steve Joyce
Beginner Big J
britbitter
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 55 posts
Model Shipwrights: 55 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 03:12 AM UTC
This is my first build and I'm dedicated to finishing it the best I can. It is a big learning experience and I'm enjoying it immensely!
Tamiya 1/350 USS New Jersey 1980's
Pontos detail kit including PE, wood deck, decals, veteran resin.

Please feel free to point out how to improve technique. My painting skills are pretty bad. I am putting off getting an air brush until I can find more workspace. I consolidated the pontos instructions with the kit instructions and am more or less following the build order of the kit instructions. This seems wrong to me. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Also could someone tell me how to post pictures from my album in this thread?

Thanks,
Removed by original poster on 03/19/13 - 16:32:20 (GMT).
britbitter
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 04:36 AM UTC
This was the first thing I did. I filed and sanded the barrels to try to get the mold lines off them. The gun metal ring is too wide and sloppy but I'll get better with practice. I have since replaced these with brass from the pontos kit.

This is the 3rd and final time I painted the hull. The first two times I over coated it and it ran. I used Tamiya TS32 haze gray, TS6 flat black and TS33 dull red all in spray cans.

Painting acrylics by brush is hard at least for me. This is a 3rd coat after I thinned it with a bit of water. I also found that cutting the wood deck with all of the holes and cut outs was difficult.