_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Railings & Wood Decking
K-Tama
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 33 posts
Model Shipwrights: 7 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 29, 2013 - 05:43 PM UTC
Quick question... I plan on building a 1/350 scale Eugen and I wanted to go all out . I'm planning on buying a wood deck kit and photo etch railings. Should I attach the railings after the wood decks or attach the decks first and then the railings? I'm fairly new with photo etch railings but have some previous experience. But not with these fancy wooden decks any help would be awesome
RedDuster
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 7,078 posts
Model Shipwrights: 6,649 posts
Posted: Monday, December 30, 2013 - 02:43 AM UTC
Hi Kaimana,

I am getting into wood decks, and have used a few, my method, is paint the hull & moulded deck details that will protrude through the deck first, then fit the deck before adding the railings or superstructure (generally), have a look a my build log of HMS Dreadnought of on the "Ship Types by Class board on this forum. will give you one way of doing it.

Si
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
Model Shipwrights: 3,509 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 07:50 PM UTC
railings should almost be the last thing you do. delicate easy to knock loose /bend
vonHengest
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 5,854 posts
Model Shipwrights: 350 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 08:40 PM UTC
I would have to agree, the railings are just too delicate to be working around.
RedDuster
Visit this Community
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 10:49 PM UTC
Steve, Jeremy,

Concur, sorry didn't make that bit clear.

Si
K-Tama
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Wednesday, January 01, 2014 - 01:09 PM UTC
Thanks guys for the replies...helped a lot happy New Years!
vonHengest
Visit this Community