_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Battleships
Topics from the Dreadnaught era to modern day.
Hosted by Steve Joyce
USS New Jersey (1945) Colour Scheme ...
pbennett
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 464 posts
Model Shipwrights: 16 posts
Posted: Monday, September 23, 2019 - 10:23 PM UTC
I have a 1/1200-scale Aoshima kit of USS New Jersey. The box label suggests that this depicts the ship in 1945. No colour notes are included, so I am trying to find out what camouflage scheme would be appropriate for this model. I have very little knowledge of Naval colours (being more used to dealing with AFVs). I would be grateful for any information on this.

Thanks,

Paul
TimReynaga
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 2,500 posts
Model Shipwrights: 1,830 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 01:01 AM UTC
Hi Paul,

USS New Jersey was initially painted in dark single-color Camouflage Measure 21 (Navy Blue overall with dark blue decks) and remained in this scheme for about two years. In June 1945 she was repainted in the horizontal "two-tone" Camouflage Measure 22 (Haze Gray over all vertical surfaces with Navy Blue beginning at main deck level to the waterline, dark blue decks), which she wore for the rest of the World War II era.

I didn't know Aoshima made a 1/1200 New Jersey... do you mean the little 1/2000 kit?
pbennett
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
Posted: Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 02:25 AM UTC
Tim,

Thanks for the informative response.
Apologies ... typing error. The kit is 1/2000 scale (as you rightly pointed out).

Paul
Quincannon
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 275 posts
Model Shipwrights: 273 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 02:53 AM UTC
Paul what Tim has relayed to you is spot on as far as the two camouflage measure NJ wore in wartime. There is one additional piece of information you will require though in choosing one of the two.