_GOTOBOTTOM
Ships by Class/Type: Battleships
Topics from the Dreadnaught era to modern day.
Hosted by Steve Joyce
King George V 1941 build log
mat
Visit this Community
Limburg, Netherlands
KitMaker: 894 posts
Model Shipwrights: 44 posts
Posted: Friday, August 07, 2020 - 08:57 PM UTC
Hi All,

A little while ago I started on my 1:350 KGV and I have been asked to make a build log of it, so here it is

I have not posted a lot on MSW since for many years I have been building armour, but since a few years I went back to my modelling roots: ships. Here are some pictures of my previous models:

Roma and Yamato

SMS Kronprinz

Indianapolis

Sorry for the bad pictures, these are made with my cellphone. In the future I will us a better camera.

For my KGV build I will of course use the Tamiya kit, as add on parts I will use the Pontos set, some additional doors that were missing from the kit and hopefully some WEM carley rafts.

Pontos wants you to remove 99% of all deck detail, then they want you to install the wooden deck, and then you can add their own detail to it. This is a combination of PE and resin vents. Good thing about it is that it makes painting a whole lot easier

Here comes the first challenge, Pontos provides the breakwater in 3 parts with a gap in between, both on on port and starboard side so sailors did not gave to climb over it. This is also shown on pictures of the actual ship, but Profile Morskie shows them as one big breakwater. So even the plans are not always correct it seems.

The other thing is that the plans show a lot more hose reels and also 2 winches on deck in front of the front turret. I need to check my photos to find out when those were placed. The plans were of KGV during the Bismarck engagement, but I am building KGV from an earlier part of 1941. Pictures of the ship at see in March show the winches and additional hose reels.

well, lot's of things to find out, that is what makes this hobby fun
d6mst0
Visit this Community