_GOTOBOTTOM
General Ship Modeling
Discuss modeling techniques, experiences, and ship modeling in general.
Fonderie Models LCVP
FAUST
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
KitMaker: 8,797 posts
Model Shipwrights: 27 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 23, 2004 - 03:01 AM UTC
Ola Swabbies

Question from an armor guy and I hope you guys can help me with some answers.
The Landings at the beaches of D-Day alway have intrigued me and this has even got stronger when reading D-Day by Stephen Ambrose. As I already said I am an Armor modeler but I really like those landingcrafts and Especially the Higgins boat which primarily was used as a multipurpose craft (as I read online) In first instance it was used for bringing troops to the beach and was loaded with wounded on the way back (correct me if I`m wrong.
Now I see firms like Trumpeter and Italeri coming out with LCM`s and I more or less understood that that was more a craft to transport vehicles (Landing Craft Mechanized).... I also found out that LCM is not the famous (infamous with the Infantry who got transported) so Called Higgins boat.
Did some more research... and I found out that the designation of the Higgins Boat is LCVP (Landing Craft Vehicle Personnel) and I found out that there was actually a company who sells this LCVP. This company is Fonderie Models.

Ok quite long story for an easy question. has anybody have experience with this kit? how does it built up and is it worth the money? I don`t care much for inaccuracies but if the fit is really bad or something like that then I don`t feel much to spend my money on it. Is there a crew I can use with this kit?

Every information is welcome.

skipper
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 5,182 posts
Model Shipwrights: 4,070 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 23, 2004 - 03:25 AM UTC
Hello Faust!

Nice introduction, but I have to had some info!
Higgins also produced LCM (3), as well as PT-Boats - these are Higgins boats also